Admin Login         Allstar Login
WBCA Ms. Basketball

Since 1982 the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) has awarded the most outstanding senior basketball player in the state the honor of Ms. Basketball. Mistie Bass won the award three consecutive years (2000-02), the only player in state history to be named Ms. Basketball multiple times, the award has been awarded to seniors-only since. Nominees and selection are completed by a committee of current WBCA Executive Board members. The award is sponsored by JustAGame Fieldhouse in Wisconsin Dells.

Hortonville’s Kamy Peppler has been named the 2022 Ms. Basketball award-winner by the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association, sponsored by JustAgame Fieldhouse in Wisconsin Dells. 

“I was really surprised when I heard the news, it’s a great honor especially being among such a talented class,” explained Peppler. 

Peppler is a dynamic point guard with the ability to control the game with her ability to shoot the three, get the hoop off the dribble, and has great court vision to find the open player. She is also strong on the defensive end off the floor using her quickness to get steals and deflections. 

She said being named Ms. Basketball wasn’t something she was really thinking about. “My focus was on doing whatever my team needed me to do to be able to succeed.” 

Peppler added that she looked up to a few former Ms. Basketball winners, most notably Lexi Donarski of Aquinas. “I was able to play against Lexi at AAU practices and learn from her.” 

The 5-foot-6 point guard averaged 13.8 points, 3.5 rebounds, 5.1 assists, and 3.3 steals per game for the coach Celeste Ratka and Polar Bears. Hortonville captured the Fox Valley Association title with an undefeated record and advanced to Division 1 sectional play, finishing the year with a 24-2 record.

“It’s an honor to be named Ms. Basketball but I would not be in this position today with out my teammates, my coaches, and my family and a huge thanks to them for helping me become the player I am today!” 

Coach Ratka said that she knew watching how Kamy competed and practiced her freshman year that she would get everything out of her ability. 

“I have never seen a player so determined and work so hard every single day. She practices like she is trying to make the team, and that never changed as she experienced different levels of success. No one has prepared harder than Kamy Peppler.” 

Coach Ratka went on to say that Kamy is a program changer. “She is a special kind of superstar that empowers others and shows them the greatness that they have inside of them. It's obvious that she has talent on the court, but what makes her elite is how she treats others. She has a humility that makes her down to earth and approachable to all of her teammates.” 

Peppler finished her career with over 1,200 points, nearly 500 assists, and over 300 steals, leading Hortonville to an 85-20 record with two state tournament appearances. Peppler will continue her basketball career with the UW-Milwaukee Panthers. 

The finalists for Ms. Basketball were Peppler, Emily LaChapell of Appleton East, Jordan Meulemans of De Pere, Lily Krahn of Prairie du Chien, and Mahra Wieman of Reedsburg. 

Ms. Basketball History
Year Player(s) Team
2022 Kamy Peppler Hortonville
2021 Bailey Butler Black Hawk
2020 Lexi Donarski Aquinas
2019 McKenna Warnock Monona Grove
2018 Hailey Oskey Seymour
2017 Sidney Cooks Kenosha St. Joseph
  Estella Moschkau Edgewood
2016 Hannah Whitish Barneveld
2015 Arike Ogunbowale Divine Savior Holy Angels
2014 Gabrielle Ortiz The Prairie School
2013 Samantha Terry Baraboo
2012 Nicole Bauman New Berlin Eisenhower
2011 Samantha Logic Racine Case
2010 Nicole Griffin Milwaukee Vincent
2009 Adrian Ritchie De Pere
2008 Rachael Hencke Grafton
2007 Lin Zastrow Jefferson
2006 Ellie Radke Monroe
2005 Erin Monfre Waukesha South
2004 Jolene Anderson South Shore
2003 Meredith Onson Oshkosh West
2002 Mistie Bass Janesville Parker
2001 Mistie Bass Janesville Parker
2000 Mistie Bass Janesville Parker
1999 Candas Smith Madison West
1998 Kelly Auger Pius XI Catholic
1997 LaTonya Sims Racine Park
1996 Kelley Paulus La Crosse Central
1995 Amy Wiersma Randolph
1994 Anna DeForge Niagara
1993 Katie Voigt Lakeland
1992 Keisha Anderson Racine Park
1991 Lori Goerlitz Oshkosh North
1990 Dolly Rademaker Thorp
1989 Melissa Smith D.C. Everest
1988 Martha Richards Hudson
1987 Sonja Henning Racine Horlick
1986 Julie Garske Amherst
1985 Heidi Bunek Pius XI Catholic
1984 Kelly Byrne Brookfield East
1983 Tammy McKay McFarland
1982 Jane Lobenstein Portage



© 2021. Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association