Admin Login         Allstar Login
WBCA Mr. Basketball

Since 1982 the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association has awarded the most outstanding senior basketball player in the state the honor of Mr. Basketball. Nominees are determined by a committee of current WBCA Executive Board members. Voting for the honor is handled by a panel of WBCA Hall of Fame Coaches. The award is sponsored by JustAGame Fieldhouse in Wisconsin Dells.

John Kinziger never thought he'd have the chance to share the most prestigious award given to a senior high school basketball player in Wisconsin with one of his best friends. 

So when the De Pere dynamo and Illinois State recruit found out he and Pewaukee senior Milan Momcilovic were selected as co-Mr. Basketball recipients, Kinziger found himself a bit overjoyed.

"It is a great feeling to get this award," the 6-foot-0 Kinziger said. "I never really thought of Milan and myself sharing it. That makes it all the better. Milan and I are good friends. We text each other every day and are very close."

A panel of coaches and media members from the WIsconsin Basketball Coaches Association selected the two standout seniors for the award, which is sponsored by Just A Game Fieldhouse in Wisconsin Dells and will be presented Friday evening at the WIAA State Tournament at the Kohl Center in Madison. 

Similar to Kinziger, Momcilovic was more than pleased to share the honor with his AAU teammate from the Phenom University program. 

"Sharing it with someone? I wasn't sure that could happen," said Momcilovic, who is headed to Iowa State on a basketball scholarship. "When I found out it was John, I thought was just great. He's my guy. We shared the same hotel room every time we went on the road in AAU. We ended up doing it together. I love that is was with Johnny."

Playing the point-guard position for the top-ranked WIAA Division 1 team in Wisconsin, Kinziger is having a banner season, leading De Pere to a 28-0 record heading into the state-tournament semifinals. The multi-skilled and always active Kinziger is averaging 18.8 ppg, 5.3 rpg, 5.6 apg and 2.1 spg. He has scored more than 2,000 career points and is a four-time first-team all-league selection in the Fox River Classic Conference. 

"So far, the season has gone very well and earning Mr. Basketball just kind of tops it off," Kinziger said. "This award is means a lot to me, but the bigger issue right now is playing two more games and helping De Pere get two more wins to capture at state championship."

Momcilovic's shooting range compliments his ability to score around the basket and makes Pewaukee one of the best teams in Wisconsin. He has made 53-of-138 tries from deep for 38 percent while also averaging 22.9 ppg and shooting 88 percent from the line and 58 percent from the field. Momcilovic is a four-year high school player is nearing 2,000 career points and 200 made three-point baskets. 

"I am grateful and honored to receive the award," Momcilovic said. "This is a blessing to my entire family. You have to grind all the time to become a good player, and it has paid off for me. You have to go in every day to your workouts with the mindset of trying to be the best you can be."

Mr. Basketball History
Year Player(s) Team
2023 Milan Momcilovic Pewaukee
  John Kinziger De Pere
2022 Seth Trimble Menomonee Falls
2021 Brandin Podziemski St. John's NW Academies
2020 Johnny Davis La Crosse Central
2019 Marcus Domask Waupun
2018 Jordan McCabe Kaukauna
2017 Kobe King La Crosse Central
2016 Sam Hauser Stevens Point
  Trevor Anderson Stevens Point
2015 Diamond Stone Dominican
  Henry Ellenson Rice Lake
2014 Kevon Looney Milwaukee Hamilton
2013 Luke Fischer Germantown
2012 Sam Dekker Sheboygan Lutheran
2011 Nimrod Hilliard IV Madison East
2010 TJ Bray Catholic Memorial
2009 Jeronne Maymon Madison Memorial
2008 DeMarcus Phillips Milwaukee Washington
2007 Keaton Nankivil Madison Memorial
  Scott Christopherson Aquinas
2006 Andy Polka Oshkosh West
2005 Wesley Matthews Madison Memorial
2004 Michael Nelson Madison Memorial
2003 Brian Butch Appleton West
2002 Greg Brown Milwaukee Vincent
2001 Devin Harris Wauwatosa East
2000 Mike Wilkinson Wisconsin Heights
1999 Marshall Williams Milwaukee Vincent
1998 Jose Winston Milwaukee Vincent
1997 Mike Wilks Milwaukee King
1996 Brad Clark Markesan
1995 Sam Okey Cassville
1994 Jim Secretarski Arrowhead
1993 Anthony Pieper Wausaukee
1992 Greg Timmerman Cuba City
1991 Calvin Rayford Milwaukee Washington
1990 Damon Key Marquette
1989 Chris Jones Milwaukee Hamilton
1988 Tony Bennett Green Bay Preble
1987 Mike Johnson Phillips
1986 Kurt Portmann Sheboygan North
1985 Dave Mueller Racine St. Catherine's
1984 Robert Barnes Racine Horlick
1983 Joe Wolf Kohler
1982 Rick Olson Madison La Follette



© 2021. Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association